TOLLCROSS COMMUNITY COUNCIL

07 February 2016

Councillor Paul Godzic
Convener of Education, Children and Families Committee
City of Edinburgh Council
City Chambers
High Street
Edinburgh
EH1 1YJ

Dear Councillor Godzik,

We are writing about our concern at the abrupt withdrawal of council funding for the Nari Kalyan Shangho(NKS) facility in our area. This organisation runs the only minority ethnic project in the southwest of the city. It has had a major impact on helping to integrate south Asian communities and particularly women into the wider community. Furthermore it has done sterling work in integrating the different south Asian communities. Its work in childcare and health promotion has been well recognised and it has won charity and empowerment awards. Its activities and aims are exactly what we are being told relate to important government policies. Such abrupt funding cessation will cause such a perturbation to its activities that many would have to cease. As a community, we value the work done by NKS and would seriously regret any disruption to its continuance.

We note that the third party grants were determined by paperwork alone and not a consideration of past knowledge and experience. It may be that seeking further information in this case is appropriate.

We do understand the severe pressures on local councils but feel that considering costs and benefits, there is a strong case to continue funding, or at least negotiate some transitional funding to help the work continue. We hope that these concerns can be considered when the committee makes its decision.

Yours sincerely

(Paul Beswick on behalf of Tollcross Community Council)

Councillor Catherine Fullerton (Vice-Convener)

Councillor Elaine Aitken

Councillor Robert Aldridge

Councillor Norma Austin Hart

Councillor Mike Bridgman

Councillor Maureen Child

Councillor Nick Cook

Councillor Gavin Corbett

Councillor Cammy Day

Councillor Allan Jackson

Councillor David Key

Councillor Richard Lewis

Councillor Alex Lunn

Councillor Melanie Main

Councillor Eric Milligan

Councillor Vicki Redpath

Councillor Keith Robson

Councillor Jason Rust

Councillor Stefan Tymkewycz

Councillor Andrew Burns (ex officio)

Councillor Sandy Howat (ex officio)